2020 Summer Internships


Bayou Preservation Association is proud to partner with Mayor Turner's Hire Houston Youth Initiative to provide internships to college students interested in green careers. Below are two positions we are currently seeking applicants for:
  Application Procedure:
Interested candidates should apply through the Hire Houston Youth (HHY) website before May 1, 2020. All HHY positions offer at least 7 weeks of paid employment. Most opportunities begin June 8, 2020 and end July 30, 2020 (estimated dates).
  • Include a note in your online HHY application that you would like to work with Bayou Preservation Association.
  • Send an email to info@bayoupreservation.org with the Subject Line: “HHY Application” and include in the body of your email:
    • Your full name
    • Email
    • Phone number

Current Board of Directors

Executive Committee

Robert L. Rayburn Chair
Linda R. Shead Vice Chair
Christopher D. Browne Secretary
Susan Hill Treasurer

Board Members

Christopher D. Browne, LEED AP EHRA
Richard P. Cate, AIA, LEED AP  MCCM Architects
Blake Coleman, PLA TGB Partners
Amy C. Dinn Super Neighborhood 64 & 88
Elaine Finger Community Volunteer
Mike Garver BRH-Garver Construction, L.P.
Lisa A. Gonzalez Houston Advanced Research Center (HARC)
Susan Hill Hawes Hill & Associates
J. Tynan Kelly Community Volunteer, Attorney
Lauren Lindsay, CFP Westwood Wealth Management
Paul Nelson Community Volunteer
Tina Petersen, Ph.D., P.E. Harris-Galveston Subsidence District
Tom Powers Community Volunteer
Robert L. Rayburn, ASLA, LEED AP Community Volunteer
Jim Robertson, Ph.D. Cypress Creek Greenway Project, Cypress Creek Flood Control Coalition
Jack Sakolosky, P.E. Othon, Inc.
Mahmoud Salehi, P.E. CobbFendley
Linda R. Shead, P.E. Shead Conservation Solutions
Merrie Talley, ASLA, LEED Talley Landscape Architects, Inc.
Joyce Wiley Community Volunteer

Management and Administration

Sarah P. Bernhardt, Ph.D. President and Chief Executive Officer
Anni Ranck, CFRE Community Engagement Manager
Vacancy Project Coordinator   -- Applications accepted
through February 17, 2020. Click link for more information on how to apply.
Jennifer Cate Development Consultant
Cynthia CedeƱo Accounting Consultant
Eric Ruckstuhl Stream Corridor Restoration Consultant

Watershed Representatives

Armand Bayou Tim Pylate
Brays Bayou Charles Goforth
Buffalo Bayou Mike Garver/ Anne Olson
Cedar Bayou Linda Jones
Clear Creek Michael Mize
Cypress Creek Jim Robertson
Dickinson Bayou Charriss York
Greens Bayou Kelly Snook
Hunting Bayou Merrie Talley
Japhet Creek Eileen Hatcher
Little White Oak Bayou Becky Houston
Sims Bayou Joanna Friesen/ Amy Sullivan
Spring Creek Suzanne Simpson/Mike Howlett
White Oak Bayou Tom Gall/ Bob Lee

Council of Advisors*

John Bartos Houston Canoe Club
Rebecca Begley Community Volunteer
Bruce Bodson Lower Brazos Riverwatch/Houston Canoe Club/American Canoe Association/TAMU Galveston
Glenda Callaway Ekistics Corporation
Lawrence Childress City of Houston
Marjorie Cohen Community Volunteer
Tom Douglas Community Volunteer
Helen Drummond Houston Audubon
Ed Emmett Rice University
Erik Eriksson Port Houston
Roland Gramajo Community Volunteer
Mike Howlett Community Volunteer
Deborah January-Bevers Houston Wilderness
Alice Lee Chinese Professional Club
Leslie Manzano Huitt-Zollars
Becky Olive AECOM
Kathleen Ownby SPARK
Mary Anne Piacentini Katy Prairie Conservancy
Russ Poppe Harris County Flood Control District
Tom Powers Community Volunteer
Rachel Powers Citizen's Environmental Coalition
Noah Quiles UP Art Studio
Todd Running H-GAC
Lawrence Spence Westside High School, HISD
Frank Staats REIS Associates LLC
Cory Stull Freese and Nichols, Inc.
Brittany Tones Spirit Environmental
Carolyn White Memorial Park Conservancy
*2020 Council of Advisors