J. Robertson


H-GAC Presents Award to Bayou Preservation Association

Houston-Galveston Area Council’s (H-GAC) Parks and Natural Areas Subcommittee gave a Special Recognition Award to Bayou Preservation Association for habitat restoration efforts in Harris County Precinct 4’s Collins Park. Full article here.

The Terry Hershey Bayou Stewardship Award

Established in 2010,
the Terry Hershey Bayou Stewardship Award recognizes those who have demonstrated an outstanding commitment to aiding in the conservation, preservation, restoration or advocacy of Houston’s waterways. Bayou Preservation Association co-founder, Terry Hershey, inspired the inception of the awards because of her tireless and outstanding dedication to halting the Army Corps of Engineers from channelizing and concreting Buffalo Bayou in the 1960s along with then-Congressman George H.W. Bush and developer George Mitchell.

2016 Award recipients: Ed Wulfe & John Blount

2015 Award recipient: Mark Kramer
2014 Award recipient: Jim Robertson
2013 Award recipients: George H.W. Bush and George Mitchell
2012 Award recipient: Hugh Barrett
2011 Award recipient: Art Storey